

THE POOR PEOPLE'S CAMPAIGN

Sunday, January 21, 2024 2 p.m.

Nicholas Music Center

Rutgers University
New Brunswick, New Jersey



"If our demands for full justice are wrong, then the Constitution is wrong.

"If our demands are wrong, then the promise of equal protection under the law is wrong.

"If our demands are wrong, then we might as well tear up the Declaration of Independence and its promise of life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness to all people.

"If our demands are wrong, then the Bible is wrong in Isaiah 10 when it declares, 'Woe unto you who legislate evil and rob the poor of their rights.'"

- Justification for the Poor People's Campaign

"We are not makers of history. We are made by history."

The Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.,
 Letter from Birmingham Jail, 1963

PROGRAM

Host: Naia Edmonds, Theater BA '25

"Alabama"

by John Coltrane (1926–1967) Arr. by Conrad Herwig

Chamber Jazz 1

Drums – Professor Robby Ameen, Director

Bass – Graham Kozak BM '22

Piano – Peter Rushing BM '24

Tenor Sax – Jeremy Leon MM '25

Trumpet – Tahj Walsh MM '25

"The Poor People's Campaign"

A documentary by Muhammed W. Qadar, Film BFA '24

PROGRAM

Reflections on MLK's Crusade to Unite Poor People

Dr. Randall Westbrook

Lecturer, Department of Africana Studies

Rutgers School of Arts and Sciences

"Tomorrow Is My Turn"

Performed by Chloe Lovell, Dance BFA '24

"The Militant Nonviolent Movement"

Written and directed by Marshall Jones III
Performed by Jamaica Brewster, Theater BFA '27
Taye Forde, Theater BFA '27
Kelvin Langevine, Theater BFA '27
Maddox Morfit-Tighe, Theater BFA '27
Katie Sullivan, Theater BFA '27

"The Heart of a Woman"

by Florence Price (1887–1953)

Performed by Sydney Forrester Wilson BM '24

Piano – Kate Lim DMA '13

Rutgers University Kirkpatrick Choir with the Cicely Tyson Community School of Performing and Fine Arts High School Choir

"Lift Every Voice and Sing"

J. Rosamond Johnson (1873-1954) / Arr. Roland Carter

James Lubrano, piano
Dr. Brandon Williams, conductor
Troy Bell, director, Cicely Tyson High School Choir

RUTGERS KIRKPATRICK CHOIR

Tedros Abera	Breanna Fabriczi	Jose Nicolas
Sneha Anand	Julian Figueroa	Andreas Psillos
Abdon Andahur	Sam Fred	Mukund Ramakrishnan
Chaequan Anderson	Russell Greenberg	Timothy Reeves
Edward Bershad	Sarah Gunther	Anna Rehberg
Janet Beshai	Kenna Heim	Emma Rentzel
Kaitln Burnett	Dan Howells	Kat Rich
Jordan Calderon	Caitlyn Huetz	Joe Schmidt
Andrew Chan	Edan Jeanlouis	Will Scott
Javera Chaudhry	Ryan Kalin	Sidarth
Ezra Chechik	Gavin Kim	Sonia Sinha
Kai Cleary	Rebecca Kornhaber	Colin Smith
Elena Cuesta	Theresa Lanzetta	Shannon Solazzo
Jessica Currao	Natalie Ligotino	Dustin Symonette
Tal Daan	Musiq Lindquist	Ethan Tran
Byron De Leon	Arron Little	Michael Trujillo
Kira de Olivera	Inessa Martins	Samuel Tunkel
Ethan Del Valle	Sean Masino	Romulo Vite
Sharanya Devarakonda	Clara Melvin	Sydney Forrester Wilson
Croix Ellison	Cape Miele	Alex Yedidia

CICELY TYSON COMMUNITY SCHOOL OF PERFORMING AND FINE ARTS HIGH SCHOOL CHOIR

FIRST-YEARS:	Kayla Fagan	SENIORS:
Eva Benjamin	J'kiah Green	Younica Deriner
Jasmine Bunche	Mattison Jacques	Makya DeWitt
Semai Graham	Corry Jones	Talib Dismuke
Malia Hardy	J'kiah Livingston	Jaylen Dukes
Timaiah Marshall	Jaenaha Lloyd	Jahnay Ibukun
BrSy'nae Martinez	Orin Ogle	Elijah Johnson
Prince McLeod	Shakyah Webster	Massai Lawson
Abigail RiSa'tara'nae		Zyeajia Moore
Thomas-Matthews	JUNIORS:	Zayynah Muhammad
Mickerson Volcy	Michelle Boone	Naomi Pierce-Allen
Sa'tara Williams	Eleisha Cobb	Zaranah Smith
Lonshellise Woodruff	Djordyn Mobley	Rael Taverez
	Keanna Phillips	Sumayyah Vandyke

SOPHOMORES:Marquis PhillipsSahar BatemonBryan RodriguezShaune ElliotTanijah Vernon

Concluding Remarks

Dean Jason Geary, Mason Gross School of the Arts



View the full calendar of spring events at Mason Gross and buy tickets at go.rutgers.edu/MGPAC.

PRODUCTION STAFF

Marshall Jones III Artistic Coordinators

and Maureen Hurd

Adam Klein Event Manager

Patty Mancuso Department Administrator

Maritza McGraw Director of Operations & Events

Gray Burdick '25 Stage Manager

Jay Dubin Audio & Lighting Technician

Anthony Graceffo Recording & Streaming Technician

ABOUT MASON GROSS SCHOOL OF THE ARTS

Mason Gross School of the Arts is a vibrant community of artists and scholars committed to pursuing excellence, innovation, and inclusivity. Its mission is to create socially relevant art, foster diverse programming and curricula, cultivate community partnerships, and advance the arts through teaching, creative activity, advocacy, and research that contributes to the public good. Comprising 1,200 undergraduate and graduate students across programs in music, theater, dance, filmmaking, and art & design, Mason Gross is housed within Rutgers–New Brunswick, a premier Big Ten research university that serves some 50,000 students and is the flagship campus of Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey.

MASON GROSS SCHOOL OF THE ARTS

Jason Geary, Dean and Senior Vice Provost, Academic Initiatives

Rebecca Cypess, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs

Marshall Jones III, Associate Dean for Equity

Annabelle Luu, Associate Dean for Finance and Administration

Lisa Brockenbrough Sanon-Jules, Assistant Dean

for Advising and Student Success

Mandy Feiler, Assistant Dean for Admissions and

Enrollment Management

Laurie Granieri, Director of Communications

Eugene Jun, Director of Information Technology

Denyse Reed, Director of Development

Ellen Bredehoft, Chair - Theater

Gerald Casel, Chair - Dance

Patrick Stettner, Chair - Filmmaking

Jacqueline Thaw, Chair - Art & Design

Amanda Eubanks Winkler, Director - Music

Kevin Bott, Director – Rutgers Arts Online

